Trailer Reviews – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows Trailer #1

Posted: December 11, 2015 in Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

By now, you’ve probably seen the new trailer for the upcoming film Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows. The weird thing about this trailer is that I actually liked it. Admittedly, I was never a huge TMNT fan to begin with (not to mention the fact that I just didn’t like the first movie we got last year), but this trailer actually makes the sequel look fun. Almost like everyone working on the first film actually listened to the criticism thrown at it and used it to improve the product.

See what I mean? One of the biggest complaints I had with the last film was that everything seemed overdone to the point of being ridiculous. The turtles had a bunch of pieces of junk hanging off of them, the Foot Clan were black ops and not actual ninjas, and Shredder had that ridiculous number of blades coming out of his Transformer suit.

But in the trailer for Out of the Shadows, most of that goes right out the window, giving the trailer a nicer, cleaner feeling. Good thing too, because, like I said above, this thing looks fun. Bebop and Rocksteady look almost directly lifted from the original cartoon, and while it’s fun to see the both of them here, it’s also one of the few detracting points I had about the trailer (more on them below). Appearances by Casey Jones and what seem to be portals to Dimension X only serve to heighten the excitement factor.

Even though I’ve thrown a lot of praise at this trailer for doing what the Batman-esque teaser for the first film couldn’t do (actually make me interested in watching this movie), the fun and admittedly campy tone in this trailer also serves as one of the biggest weaknesses. Remember how I said Bebop and Rocksteady look like the classic animated versions? I meant that literally. They actually look like they were ripped out of a cartoon and put in the real world, regardless of whether or not they’d look like they were real too. It’s odd watching something so obviously CGI doing things in real life, to the point where the fight scene between the two and the turtles looked like a video game cutscene or a cartoon (however, I’ll give it some leeway, since there’s still time to improve the effects).

On top of that, generally speaking, the performances and music choice work to suggest that the final film will be almost campy in tone. I’m only including it as a potential problem because we haven’t seen more clips or trailers yet to gauge how bad it could be. Just so long as the film keeps the camp level light and doesn’t go Batman Forever on me, I’ll be fine in the theater.

Overall, I really liked this trailer. I can’t believe I’m actually writing this, but I’m kind of looking forward to seeing more clips and teasers/trailers for a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie. If that doesn’t say something about how good this trailer is, then I don’t know what will.

TRAILER GRADE: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

